Calculator Lessons

Resetting your calculator

Reasons for resetting your calculator

Sometimes, your calculator may start to act strangely. When it does so, sometimes the only solution is to reset it. Resetting your calculator is also a valid option to revert changes that you can't remember how to undo, or to completely clear your calculator's working memory (RAM).

Warnings

Depending on the type of reset you choose to do, you may unintentionally delete some or all programs, apps, variables, and graphs. Each section will warn you about what data you are about to delete.

Physical reset

Some, but not all calculators, have a physical reset button. It is located on the back of the calculator, and will usually require a pin or paper clip to depress. This button initiates a RAM reset. All variables and programs that are not archived will be deleted. To reset your calculator using this method, just locate and depress the button.

Software reset

There are a number of software reset options. To access them, press [2nd]+[+][mem]. Then, press [7]. You have now entered the reset menu. You can use the arrow keys to navigate between sub-menus. Below are the instructions and information for each menu.

RAM

This is the main screen that you will see initally upon entering the reset menu. To reset the RAM, press [enter] twice. All variables and programs that are not archived will be deleted. To reset to default settings, press the down key to select Defaults. Then, press [enter] twice. This will reset all settings to their default values.

ARCHIVE

This screen allows you to reset archives variables and apps. To reset archived variables, press [enter] twice. All archived variables will be reset to their default variables. To reset apps, press the down button to select Apps. Press [enter] twice. This will delete all non-standard apps. To clear both, press the down button to select Both. Press [enter] twice. Both variables and apps will be reset to their default states.

ALL

This screen allows you to factory reset the calculator. To do so, press [enter] twice. Everything other than the operating system will be deleted.